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Business tax basics 

Business tax basics 
This guide is created to help you understand 
Washington’s tax structure  It’s intended to provide an 
overview of the taxes that apply to various business 
activities in Washington.

Washington does not have a corporate or personal 
income tax  Most Washington businesses are subject to 
three major state taxes, all administered or overseen by 
the Department of Revenue:

• Business and occupation tax (B&O).

• Retail sales tax 

• Use tax 

Other taxes may apply to your business, such as:
• Public utility tax.

• Specialty taxes 

• County and city taxes 

Reminder
State tax laws change regularly. The information 
provided is current at the time of the publication.

Questions
Specialists are available to answer your tax questions 
Monday through Friday from 8 a m  to 5 p m  

(Closed most Wednesdays 8-9 a.m.)

• Phone: 360-705-6705.

• Live Chat: Go to dor.wa.gov/contact, and then click 
on the Live Chat icon 

Wait times increase around due dates. 

Resources
Go to dor.wa.gov, then click Forms and Publications 

• Industry-specific guides.

• Special notices.

• Tax topic articles.

More services
Information on other services and publications can be 
found at the back of this publication or on our website 
at dor.wa.gov.

Tax revenue collected and what it provides

350,965
Phone calls

60 
Educa� onal 
workshops
(1,529 a� endees)

Revenue at a Glance
Revenue collected (FY23)
 State revenues (in billions):
  Retail sales and use tax  $15.9
  Business and occupa� on  $6.6
  State property tax levy  $4.5
  Other state taxes  $5.8
 Local revenues:
  Retail sales and use tax  $7.0
  Other local revenues  $0.7
 Total collec� ons  $40.5
 Cost per $100 collected 54¢

Repor� ng/ac� ve businesses 
 Ac� ve repor� ng (as of 7/1/2023):
  Monthly  170,939
  Quarterly  238,129
  Annual  226,286
  Total  635,354
 Audits 4,027
 Voluntary compliance 98.2%

Tax return fi lings
 Monthly 2,022,663
 Quarterly 876,794
 Annual 200,902
 Total 3,100,359

Staffi  ng
 FTEs  1,458.3

Agency budget 2021-2023 biennial
 FY22  $192.4M
 FY23 $439.2M
 Total  $631.6M

*Increase in FY23 budget includes money allo� ed for Working 
Families Tax Credit payments.

Unclaimed Property 
 Property reported $322M
 Claims approved 306,374
 Returned to owners $138.9M 

$40.5
B I L L I O N

Tax revenue collected and what it provides

Natural 
resources

Public safetyHuman services

Educa� on

Health care

Customer service

Working Families Tax Credit
 Applica� ons received  182,300
 Individual Tax Iden� fi ca� on Number
 (ITIN) fi lers    18,230
 Total refunded  $94.7M

11.1 million
Website visits

22,829
Live chats

704
WFTC outreach 
events

423,970
Business license 
applica� ons and 
renewals

*

$15.9 billion — State retail sales and use tax
$7 billion — Local retail sales and use tax
$6.6 billion — Business and occupa� on tax
$5.8 billion — Other state taxes and fees
$4.5 billion — State share property tax
$0.7 billion — Other local taxes

9Washington State Department of Revenue 2023 Annual Report

WWW

Notes

https://dor.wa.gov
https://dor.wa.gov/contact
https://dor.wa.gov
https://dor.wa.gov
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Rights and responsibilities

Rights and responsibilities
Your rights as a taxpayer include:

• Written explanations when tax assessments, 
interest, and penalties are issued.

• Reliable, written advice and reporting instructions 
provided by the department specifically to the 
taxpayer, and to have interest, penalties, and 
in some instances, tax assessments waived if 
complying with that information worked against the 
taxpayer 

• Prompt administrative remedies when tax laws or 
rules are found to be unconstitutional by the final 
decision of a court of record 

• Confidentiality of their financial and business 
information in the department’s possession 
in accordance with the requirements of RCW 
82 32 330 

• Clear and current tax instructions, rules, procedures, 
forms, and other tax information received upon 
request 

• Prompt and independent administrative review 
by the department of a decision to revoke a tax 
registration, and to a written determination that 
either upholds the revocation or reinstates the 
registration.

Your responsibilities as a taxpayer include:
• Register with the Department of Revenue 

• Know your tax reporting obligations, and to ask 
the department for instructions when you are 
uncertain 

• Keep accurate and complete business records 

• File returns and pay taxes on time.

• Provide accurate information on tax returns.

• Substantiate claims for refund.

• Pay all taxes on time after closing a business, and 
request cancellation of the tax account.

• Respond to communications from the department 
in a timely manner.

Registering with the Department of Revenue
Register if: 

• Your business requires city, county, or state 
endorsements 

• You are doing business using a name other than 
your full legal name 

• You plan to hire employees within the next 90 days 

• Your business is required to collect retail sales tax 

• Your gross income is $12,000 per year or more 

• Your business is required to pay taxes or fees to the 
Department of Revenue 

• You are a buyer or processor of specialty wood 
products 

• Your out-of-state business meets one or more of the 
following in the current or previous year:

 □ Has physical presence nexus in Washington 

 □ Has more than $100,000 in combined gross 
receipts source or attributed to Washington.

 □ Is organized or commercially domiciled in 
Washington 

For any business type other than a sole proprietorship, 
you must first register with the Secretary of State, and 
then register with the Department of Revenue 

Also, see our requirements for out-of-state businesses 
at dor.wa.gov/education/industry-guides/out-state-
businesses 

You can register online at dor.wa.gov/open-business 

https://dor.wa.gov/education/industry-guides/out-state-businesses
https://dor.wa.gov/education/industry-guides/out-state-businesses
https://dor.wa.gov/open-business
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Filing frequency and due dates

Notes

Filing frequency and due dates
Paying your taxes
Your state business taxes are reported on the excise 
tax return. Businesses file tax returns either monthly, 
quarterly, or annually. After registering your business, 
we will determine your reporting frequency based on 
your estimated gross income and your type of business. 

Businesses are required to file and pay taxes 
electronically 

If you don’t conduct any business or don’t owe tax, you 
are still responsible for timely filing an excise tax return.

Due dates
If a due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the due 
date is extended to the next business day 

Monthly filers: Monthly tax returns are due the 25th of 
the month following the reporting period. 

Quarterly filers: Quarterly tax returns are due the last 
day of the month following the reporting period. 

Annual filers: Annual tax returns are due April 15th of 
the year following the reporting period.

Business records to keep
You should keep the following records for a minimum of 
five years:

• State excise tax returns and workpapers 

• Federal income tax returns 

• Summary accounting records and source journals 
such as the check register, general ledger, sales 
journal, general journal, cash receipts journal, and 
any other records you use to record income and 
expenses 

• Sales invoices 

• Purchase invoices 

• Depreciation schedules listing all assets acquired or 
disposed of, along with invoices for those assets 

• Reseller permits for any wholesale sales 

• Supporting documentation for all deductions and 
exemptions.

You may keep records in either paper or electronic 
format  You must provide these records if requested by 
the Department of Revenue 

Excise tax
An excise tax is an indirect type of taxation imposed on 
the manufacture, sale, or use of goods and services 

Accounting methods
Accrual accounting means that you record and report 
revenues when sales are made, even if you have not yet 
received payment  

Cash accounting means that you record and report 
revenues when you receive payment from your 
customers  

You must report to the Department of Revenue using 
the same accounting method that you use to report to 
the Internal Revenue Service 

Gross income vs  net income
Generally, businesses must report their gross income 
on their excise tax returns  Gross income is the total 
amount charged to customers, without any deductions 
for labor, materials, taxes, or other costs of doing 
business  Washington’s business taxes are calculated on 
gross income, rather than net income 

Net income is calculated by deducting certain costs of 
doing business from gross income  Federal income tax is 
based on the net income of a business 

https://dor.wa.gov


4

Business and occupation (B&
O

) tax

Business and occupation (B&O) tax
The state business and occupation (B&O) tax is a gross 
receipts tax based on the value of products, gross 
proceeds of sales, or gross income of your business  
The B&O tax is a cost of doing business and should not 
be collected from your customers as a separate line 
item  Almost all businesses located or doing business 
in Washington are subject to the B&O tax, including 
corporations, LLCs, partnerships, sole proprietors, and 
nonprofit corporations.

The B&O tax is due on gross income from business 
conducted in Washington. No deductions are allowed 
for labor, materials, taxes, or other costs of doing 
business  Your business may qualify for certain 
exemptions, deductions, and credits.

There are more than 50 B&O tax classifications for 
business activities. The B&O tax rate is based on the 
type of business activity you engage in. Your business 
may report income under multiple tax classifications if 
you engage in more than one type of activity. You are 
responsible for determining which classification(s) to 
report your income under  Contact us if you are unsure 
of which classification(s) apply to your business.

For the complete list of B&O tax classifications, 
definitions, and tax classifications for common business 
activities, visit dor.wa.gov and click Taxes & rates 

Retailing
Businesses that sell goods and certain services to 
consumers are retailers  Retail sales tax is collected on 
retail sales unless an exemption applies. 

Taxable retail services include:

• Improving real or personal property, such as:

 □ Custom construction.

 □ Repairs to real or personal property 

• Certain personal services, such as:

 □ Tanning 

 □ Use of athletic and fitness facilities.

 □ Recreational services.

 □ Tattooing.

• Specialized activities, such as:

 □ Lawn mowing, tree and shrub pruning, and 
trimming 

 □ Escrow services 

• Renting equipment with operators.

• Extended warranties.
Businesses making retail sales are subject to retailing 
B&O tax, even when the sales are not subject to retail 
sales tax  For example, certain food products are exempt 
from sales tax, but the income from food sales is subject 
to retailing B&O tax 

Notes

https://dor.wa.gov 
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Business and occupation (B&
O

) tax

Notes
Wholesaling
Wholesalers sell goods and services to businesses 
who will resell them to others in the regular course of 
business  The B&O tax is calculated on the wholesale 
selling price  Retail sales tax is not collected on 
wholesale transactions. If you are a wholesaler, 
you must keep a reseller permit or other approved 
exemption certificate on file from each buyer to 
document the transaction as a wholesale sale. Do not 
send reseller permits to the Department of Revenue 

Reseller permit
Businesses buying goods or services for resale must 
use a reseller permit or other approved exemption 
certificate to make purchases without paying sales tax.

Reseller permits may be used to buy:

• Merchandise and inventory for resale without the 
buyer using it first.

• Ingredients, components, or chemicals used in 
processing new products for sale 

• Feed, seed, seedlings, fertilizer, and spray materials 
if you are a farmer 

• Materials and contract labor for retail/wholesale 
construction.

• Items for dual purposes 
Reseller permits may not be used to buy:

• Items for personal or household use 

• Items used in a business that are not resold, such as 
office supplies and equipment.

• Promotional items or gifts.

• Tools, equipment, or equipment rentals 

• Materials and contract labor for public road 
construction, federal government contracting, or 
speculative building.

Verify customers’ reseller permits
We recommend that at least once per year you verify 
that your customers’ reseller permits are valid 

For a single permit, use our Business Lookup at dor 
wa.gov/businesslookup and print a copy for your 
records 

For multiple permits, use our Reseller Permit Verification 
Service at dor.wa.gov/ResellerPermitVerificationService 
and keep the confirmation code(s) for your records.

https://dor.wa.gov
https://dor.wa.gov/businesslookup 
https://dor.wa.gov/businesslookup 
https://dor.wa.gov/ResellerPermitVerificationService
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Business and occupation (B&
O

) tax

Notes
Manufacturing
Companies that manufacture items in Washington pay 
the manufacturing B&O tax  Manufactured products 
used by the manufacturer are also subject to this tax  
The manufacturing B&O tax is based on the value of the 
products, usually determined by the selling price  In 
cases when there is no sale, the value is the selling price 
of similar products  

The manufacturer must also report under the 
wholesaling or retailing B&O tax. However, the Multiple 
Activities Tax Credit eliminates the lesser of the 
production or selling taxes.

Service and other activities
The service and other activities B&O tax is due on sales 
of personal and professional services  Any business 
activity that is not subject to another B&O tax must 
report under this “catch all” category  

The types of businesses and services that report under 
this category include:

• Consulting services.

• Management services 

• Attorneys.

• Beauticians.

• Doctors 

• Tutors 

• Janitors 
This tax classification has two rates:

• For businesses with less than $1 million subject to 
service and other activities B&O tax in the previous 
year, the rate is 1 5% 

• For businesses with $1 million or more subject to 
service and other activities B&O tax in the previous 
year, the rate is 1 75% 

B&O tax exemptions
There are few exemptions from B&O tax. The most 
common exemptions are the sale and long-term rental 
of real estate 

B&O tax deductions
Common B&O deductions are listed on this page. For a 
full list of available deductions, please see our website 
dor.wa.gov/deductions. Deductions must be included 
in your gross income on the excise tax return and then 
subtracted as a deduction.
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Business and occupation (B&
O

) tax

Notes

Bad debts
Deductible when written off in accounting records 
(e.g. deductible for federal income tax purposes) and 
reported on a previous tax return. Documentation for 
this deduction includes the sales invoice, proof that the 
original sale was reported on the excise tax return, and 
proof that the debt was written off.

Casual sales
As a registered business, you are required to collect 
retail sales tax on all retail sales of goods  If you make 
sales of goods outside the regular course of your 
business, you may claim a deduction under the retailing 
B&O tax classification. Documentation includes the sales 
invoice 

Interstate and foreign sales
Items shipped or delivered to your customer outside 
Washington. Documentation for this deduction includes 
the sales invoice and shipping document 

Returns and allowances
For sales reported in full on a previous tax return, 
but later returned and refunded to the customer  
Documentation includes the original sales invoice, proof 
that the full sale amount was reported on a previous 
return, and the credit memo 

B&O tax credits

Small Business B&O Tax Credit
The most common B&O tax credit is the Small Business 
B&O Tax Credit  Businesses below a certain B&O 
tax liability are entitled to a credit. The credit varies 
depending on the total amount of B&O tax due  

When you file your excise tax return electronically on 
My DOR, the Small Business B&O Tax Credit is calculated 
and applied automatically. If you file your excise taxes 
on a paper return, see our website for details about 
claiming this credit  

Multiple Activities Tax Credit (MATC)
Another common B&O tax credit available to 
manufacturers is the MATC  Companies who 
manufacture and sell goods in Washington are required 
to report their income under both the manufacturing 
tax classification and the selling (retailing and/or 
wholesaling) tax classification. This credit removes the 
lesser of the two taxes so that the sale of manufactured 
products in Washington is subject to B&O tax only once 

There are additional B&O tax credits available. 

Please see our website dor wa gov/credits for more 
information.

https://dor.wa.gov
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Retail sales tax

Notes

Retail sales tax
The retail sales tax, often referred to simply as sales tax, 
is Washington’s largest tax source  

All sales tax amounts collected from customers are 
considered trust funds of the state  The retailer holds 
these amounts until paid to the Department of Revenue.

Definition of retail sales
Unless specifically exempted by law, every sale of 
tangible personal property, digital goods, and digital 
codes is a retail sale. In addition, sales of certain services 
such as installing, improving, or constructing real or 
personal property for consumers are also retail sales  

Certain services are specifically defined as retail sales in 
the law, such as:

• Transient lodging 

• Automobile parking 

• Title insurance 

• Escrow services 

• Extended warranties.

• Use of athletic or fitness facilities.

Collecting and reporting sales tax
Retail sales tax applies to the selling price of taxable 
transactions and must be separately stated on the bill 
to the customer  The selling price includes shipping and 
delivery charges. The advertised price may include the 
amount of tax, if so indicated in the advertisement.

Tax liability must be reported for all sales made during 
the reporting period on either the accrual basis or cash 
basis of accounting. Sellers are liable for submitting the 
correct amount of sales tax, even if they did not collect 
the proper amount from the purchaser 

All amounts collected are legally considered trust funds 
for the state  Any excess sales tax collected from the 
customer must be paid to the Department of Revenue 
unless the over-collected amount is refunded to the 
customer 

Sales tax rates
The sales tax rate you charge to your customer includes 
both the state portion (6.5%) and the local portion 
(rate varies by location). Local sales tax is the second-
largest revenue generator for local governments, behind 
property tax  Retail sales tax is used by the government 
entity that imposes the tax. The state tax is deposited 
in the state general fund, while the city and county 
taxes are distributed to the local governments  The city 
and county governments use these taxes for general 
expenditures  
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Retail sales tax

Notes
Local coding of retail sales
You must report your total retail sales by location code 
for each place of sale so local sales tax revenues are 
accurately distributed to cities and counties. 

Sales of tangible goods, digital goods, and digital codes 
are coded to the location where the customer receives 
the item. Usually, the location of the business is where 
the customer receives tangible goods  If an item is 
shipped or delivered, then the sale is coded to the 
location where it is shipped or delivered to. For sales of 
digital goods and digital codes the location is usually the 
address of the buyer 

Labor and services are coded according to where they 
are primarily performed. If an installation charge is 
normally added to the cost of an item, the entire charge 
for that item is coded to the site where it is installed  

Certain sales are coded to the location of the seller 
regardless of where the customer receives the good, 
such as vehicles, boats, and floral arrangements.

Rental of tangible goods
The local sales tax rate for the lease or rental of tangible 
goods depends on the number of lease or rental 
payments 

Single payment
If a lease or rental of tangible goods is paid with a single 
payment, then the location of the rental company 
determines the local sales tax rate 

Periodic payments
If a lease or rental of tangible goods is paid with multiple 
payments, the first payment is coded to the location of 
the rental company  All subsequent payments are coded 
to the location where the rental item is primarily located 
or stored 

Tools to determine sales tax rates and codes
We have several tools available to assist you with 
determining the correct local tax rates:

• Mobile app for iOs and Android devices  It’s free to 
download from the Apple App Store or Google Play 

• Tax rate lookup on our website  It searches 
according to address, map lookup, or latitude and 
longitude 

• Local sales and use tax rates and changes flyer on 
our website. This lists local rates alphabetically by 
city/county 

Visit dor.wa.gov/salesandusetaxtools for more options. WA Sales Tax

Free mobile app 
for iOs and Android 
devices  

https://dor.wa.gov
https://dor.wa.gov/salesandusetaxtools
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Retail sales tax

Retail sales tax deductions
Some deductions are valid for retail sales tax only and 
some for B&O tax only, and some are valid for both  
The most common retail sales tax deductions are listed 
here. Some of the deductions listed here are also 
included in the B&O tax deductions section. For a full 
list of available deductions, please see our website dor.
wa.gov/deductions. 

The following deductions must be included in your gross 
income on the excise tax return and then subtracted as 
a deduction:

Bad debts
Deductible when written off in accounting records 
(e.g. deductible for federal income tax purposes) and 
reported on a previous tax return. Documentation for 
this deduction includes the sales invoice, proof that the 
original sale was reported on the excise tax return, and 
proof that the debt was written off.

Exempt food sales
Food and food ingredients must meet specific criteria 
(WAC 458 20 244). Documentation includes the sales 
invoice 

Gross sales tax collected by facilitator
Marketplace sellers may claim this deduction when a 
marketplace facilitator collects and pays Washington 
retail sales tax on their behalf. Documentation includes 
proof the facilitator is collecting sales tax on behalf 
of the seller, which is usually included in the contract 
between the two parties.

Interstate and foreign sales
Shipped or delivered to your customer outside 
Washington. Documentation for this deduction includes 
the sales invoice and shipping document 

Returns and allowances
For sales reported in full on a previous tax return, 
but later returned and refunded to the customer  

Documentation includes the original sales invoice, proof 
that the full sale amount was reported on a previous 
return, and the credit memo 

Sales to the U.S. Government
Purchased with U S  Government funds; does not 
include sales to federal employees. Documentation for 
this deduction includes the sales invoice and proof of 
payment from the U S  Government 

Taxable amount for tax paid at source
The amount paid for goods that were later resold 
without intervening use, where retail sales tax was paid 
at the time of purchase. Documentation includes the 
purchase invoice and sales invoice 

Trade-in allowance
For exchanges of like-kind goods. Documentation 
includes the sales invoice showing the item sold and the 
item taken on trade 

Tribal tax-exempt sales with delivery in Indian country
Sales to enrolled tribal members where the goods are 
delivered to the tribal member on their reservation or 
trust land. Documentation includes the sales invoice and 
completed Tax Exemption for Sales to Tribes form.

Tribal fishing, hunting, and gathering
Retail goods and services directly used in tribal fishing, 
hunting, and gathering activities are not subject to 
sales tax. Documentation includes sales  invoice and 
completed Tribal fishing, hunting and gathering form. 

Use tax
Many people don’t realize there are Washington 
tax obligations for goods and certain retail services 
purchased or acquired when sales tax was not paid  For 
instance, even though you don’t pay sales tax when you 
shop in Oregon, your purchases are subject to use tax 
when you bring them into Washington 

Washington citizens also owe use tax in this state when 
they purchase items in other states that have a sales tax 
rate lower than Washington’s  However, a credit may be 
available for sales or use tax paid to other states  

There are many instances when Washington’s sales tax 
is not paid on purchases. In most of these situations, use 
tax is due. Unless specifically exempted, goods used in 
this state are subject to either sales tax or use tax, but 
not both  The tax applies regardless of where, or from 
whom, the property is purchased 
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Retail sales tax

Notes

https://dor.wa.gov
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Retail sales tax

Here are examples of situations when use tax is due:

• Goods purchased from out of state by subscription, 
through the Internet, or from a mail order catalog 
company when the company doesn’t collect 
Washington sales or use tax 

• Goods purchased from someone not required to 
collect sales tax  For example, when you purchase 
furniture or appliances from an individual through a 
newspaper classified ad or a garage sale.

• Personal property acquired with the purchase of 
real property  Machinery and equipment used 
in a manufacturing process may qualify for the 
Manufacturer’s sales/use tax exemption.

Use tax is not due on purchases of inventory for resale 
without intervening use  

Taxable amount and rates
The use tax rates are the same as the sales tax rates  You 
can find them at dor.wa.gov/SalesTaxRates 

Use tax is due at the rate applicable to the location 
where you first use the article. The state portion of the 
tax is 6 5% with local governments imposing their own 
additional use tax. 

Use tax is calculated on the value of the goods when 
first used in Washington, which is generally the purchase 
price  Fair market value may be used if the goods are 
used outside the state for a lengthy period of time 
before being used in Washington by the same person 

The value of the goods includes shipping, delivery, and 
installation charges.

Property used in a trade or business
Use tax is due when goods are purchased for 
consumption or used by a business and sales tax has 
not been paid  Some examples of goods that might be 
purchased without sales tax include:

• Supplies, fixtures, and equipment purchased or 
leased from an out-of-state vendor.

• Supplies, fixtures, and equipment acquired when an 
existing business is purchased.

• Promotional items, such as hats, t-shirts, calendars, 
pens, and other items given to customers or 
individuals 

• Magazine subscriptions.

• Advertising or promotional materials printed out of 
state and distributed in Washington 

• Parts installed and labor performed on tangible 
personal property repaired out of state 

• Materials installed when performing contracts for 
the federal government or city/county housing 
authorities, or public road construction.

• Equipment rented by a contractor on which sales 
tax was not previously paid 

• Articles withdrawn from inventory and used by the 
business 

• Articles manufactured by the business for its own 
use 

Use tax exemption
Residents of another state who move to Washington 
are exempt from the use tax on their household goods, 
personal effects, and private motor vehicles, if they 
acquired the property more than 90 days prior to the 
move 

For this exemption, boats, motorhomes, trailers, and 
other recreational vehicles don’t qualify as private 
motor vehicles or personal effects and are subject to 
use tax  However, a credit is allowed for sales/use tax 
paid on the article. You must provide proof of sales/use 
tax previously paid by you to qualify for the credit 

When items are donated to nonprofit charitable 
organizations, local governments, and the state, the use 
tax isn’t due even if the donor didn’t originally pay sales 
tax or use tax on the item  The donor is also exempt 
from the use tax as long as they didn’t use the item 
prior to donation.

Use tax credit
When you bring goods into Washington that you 
purchased in another state and paid sales tax at 
the time of purchase, you can deduct the sales or 
use tax you paid from the amount of use tax due to 
Washington  You must provide proof of the tax paid to 
another state prior to use of the goods in Washington  

See WAC 458-20-178 and chapter 82.12 RCW for more 
information about use tax.

Report and pay use tax
Registered businesses must report use tax on the 
excise tax return  Individuals must report use tax to 
the Department of Revenue on the consumer use tax 
return 

http://dor.wa.gov/SalesTaxRates
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Public utility tax

Public utility tax
Instead of B&O tax, the public utility tax applies if you 
engage in any of the following activities in Washington.

Hauling for hire
Motor transportation: Operating any motor propelled 
vehicle on public roads to transport property belonging 
to others or people on a for-hire basis.

Urban transportation: Operating any motor propelled 
vehicle on public roads to transport property belonging 
to others or people on a for-hire basis when the origin 
and destination of the haul are within any of the 
following:

• The corporate limits of the same city 

• Five miles of the corporate limits of the same city 

• Five miles of the corporate limits of any two cities 
whose corporate limits are no more than five miles 
apart 

• Mileage is determined by the straight-line distance, 
rather than road miles 

Log transportation: The business of transporting logs by 
truck, except when the transportation either:

• Meets the definition of urban transportation.

• Occurs only on private roads 

 □ Income from transporting logs on private roads 
is subject to service and other activities B&O 
tax 

Motor Urban Transportation Lookup Tool: Use this tool 
to determine which transportation tax applies to a trip 
based on the starting and ending location.

Visit dor.wa.gov/motorurban 

Other utilities
Gas distribution: Operating a plant or system for 
the producing or distributing of natural and/or 
manufactured gas for hire or sale 

Power: Operating a plant or system for generating, 
producing, or distributing of electrical energy for hire or 
sale 

Sewer collection: Collection of sewerage.

Water distribution: Operation of a plant or system for 
the distribution of water for hire or sale.

Public utility tax exemption
Public utility businesses earning gross revenues less 
than these amounts must report, but do not owe the 
tax:

• Monthly - $2,000.

• Quarterly - $6,000.

• Annually - $24,000.

https://dor.wa.gov
https://dor.wa.gov/motorurban
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Special taxes and fees

Special taxes and fees
Litter tax
Paid by manufacturers, wholesalers, and retailers of 
products that contribute to the state’s litter problem. 
The tax is due on the gross amount of sales within this 
state of items in the following categories:

• Food for human or pet consumption.

• Groceries 

• Cigarette and tobacco products.

• Soft drinks and carbonated waters.

• Beer and other malt beverages 

• Wine 

• Newspapers and magazines 

• Household paper and paper products 

• Glass containers 

• Metal containers 

• Plastic or fiber containers made of synthetic 
material 

• Cleaning agents and toiletries 

• Non-drug drugstore sundry products.

Lodging taxes

Convention and trade center tax
Additional tax is charged by hotels/motels located in 
King County. Convention and trade center tax location 
codes are found in the Lodging Information Rates and 
Changes flyer, available at dor.wa.gov 

Special hotel/motel tax
Some areas levy an additional tax for transient rentals 
(less than 30 consecutive days) of hotel/motels, RV 
parks, or any other type of lodging  Special hotel/motel 
location codes are found in the Lodging Information 
Rates and Changes flyer, available at dor.wa.gov 

Tourism promotion area (TPA) charges
These charges may apply to lodging businesses in 
participating cities or counties. Different zone rates may 
apply. For information, please see the Lodging Special 
Notice for your county, available at dor.wa.gov 

Transient rental income
Businesses providing lodging for less than 30 days must 
report transient rental income  Lodging businesses 
include hotels, motels, bed and breakfasts, vacation 
rentals, trailer camps, RV parks, and tent campgrounds. 
Reporting this income allows cities and counties to 
receive a distribution from the state portion of the retail 
sales tax. It is not an additional tax.

Motor vehicle sales/leases tax 
An additional 0.3% tax due on sales, leases, and 
transfers of motor vehicles licensed for on-road use. This 
tax does not apply to retail car rentals that are subject to 
the rental car tax 

Refuse collection tax
Paid by customers and submitted by the refuse 
collectors on the refuse collection charge only. Landfill 
charges are also subject to the tax  

Rental car tax
Paid by the consumer on the rental of a passenger car 
for a period less than 30 days in addition to sales tax.

https://dor.wa.gov
https://dor.wa.gov
https://dor.wa.gov
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Special taxes and fees

Notes

https://dor.wa.gov
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Late penalties and delinquency 

Solid fuel burning device fee
A fee is paid by the consumer on purchases of wood 
stoves, coal stoves, fireplaces including masonry and 
zero clearance fireplace inserts, and other similar 
devices that burn solid fuel  The fee is collected by the 
retailer who submits it with their excise tax return 

Spirits taxes
The Department of Revenue administers two spirits 
taxes: the liter tax and the sales tax  Liquor and Cannabis 
Board administers additional spirit tax. Spirits includes 
any beverage containing alcohol obtained by distillation, 
including wines with more than 24% alcohol by volume 

If you sell spirits, you must collect the spirits taxes from 
your customers  You must report and submit these taxes 
on your excise tax return 

Spirits liter tax
A tax on the sales of spirits in the original container 
and is based on the volume sold. The tax rate differs for 
consumers and on-premises retailers. 

Spirits sales tax
A tax on the selling price of spirits in their original 
container. The tax rate for consumers is different from 
the tax rate for on-premises retailers. 

Retail sales tax applies to sales of spirits by the drink or 
glass but does not apply to sales of spirits unopened in 
their original containers 

Syrup tax
This tax is based on the volume used to produce 
carbonated beverages sold at wholesale and retail in 
Washington. The business activity of selling such syrups 
in Washington is also taxed. An exemption is provided 
for syrup previously subject to this tax in Washington 

Tire fee
Tire retailers collect this fee on each retail sale of new 
replacement vehicle tires.

Tobacco products tax
Tax on distributors who sell tobacco products at 
wholesale, or retailers who purchase tobacco products 
directly from out-of-state manufacturers.

Vapor products tax
Tax on the first business or consumer who possesses 
vapor products in Washington  This tax does not apply 
to vapor products containing marijuana 

For more information about these and other special 
taxes and fees, visit dor.wa.gov/other-taxes 

Late penalties and delinquency 
What happens if I can’t file or pay on time?
Call our telephone information center. Filing extensions 
can be requested and penalties may be waived under 
limited circumstances 

The penalties on late filings are:

• 9% after the due date until the last day of the 
month following the due date 

• 19% after the last day of the month following the 
due date 

• 29% after the last day of the second month 
following the due date 

Delinquent tax collection process

What is a delinquent account?
An account becomes delinquent when the due date for 
a tax return or other established liability has passed and 
the amount due remains unpaid 

What happens if your account becomes delinquent?

1  Penalties and interest begin to accrue on the 
unpaid tax until the entire balance is paid in full.

2  If you don’t respond to letters or notices and your 
account continues to be delinquent, it is assigned 
to a Revenue Agent for collection.

3  The Revenue Agent will attempt to contact you 
by telephone, letter, or in person to resolve the 
delinquency 

https://dor.wa.gov/other-taxes
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Audits and appeals

Audits and appeals
Will I be audited?
As a registered business you may be selected for an 
audit. Audits are routine procedures used to verify that 
state excise taxes have been reported and paid correctly  

In general, your records will be reviewed to verify proper 
tax reporting. Where appropriate, you will also receive 
helpful instructions and information to help you file 
your excise tax returns in the future. We are committed 
to working with you in a professional and cooperative 
manner 

Audit procedures and programs may include:

• Obtaining electronic files of the accounting records 
for the audit period 

• Random, non-statistical sampling of specific audit 
areas 

• Computer-assisted audits using a statistical sampling 
technique  These audits are primarily used for large 
businesses  

What to expect during an audit
Audits normally cover the four prior calendar years, plus 
the current year through the end of the last calendar 
quarter. All income, deductions, and exemptions 
reported on your excise tax return may be reviewed 

An audit of your business activities may cover several 
major areas, including:

1  Gross income: Verification of the proper amounts 
and classifications reported on the return.

2  Deductions, credits, and exemptions: Verification 
of proper amounts, classifications, and 
documentation.

3  Purchases: Verification of retail sales tax or use 
tax paid on capital assets, consumable supplies, or 
articles manufactured for your own use.

Appeals process
You have the right to petition for a review of any action 
proposed by the Department of Revenue  

If you disagree with an assessment, you may ask for 
a supervisor’s conference before the assessment is 
issued  For example, when your business records are 
audited the auditor will meet with you to discuss the 
results  If you disagree with those results, you can have 
a conference with the auditor’s supervisor  

If the differences can’t be resolved at the supervisor 
level, you can file a petition for review with the 
Department of Revenue’s Administrative Review and 
Hearings Division 

You must file your petition before the due date or 
extension date of the assessment or action of the 
department  

If you do not file your petition before the due date, you 
must:

1  Pay the assessment 

2  File a petition for review requesting a refund within 
four years of the close of the tax year in which 
taxes were paid  

Example: If you paid tax in June 2021, you have until 
December 31, 2025, to petition for a refund.

A full discussion of the petition review process is 
contained in WAC 458-20-100.

For more information, visit dor.wa.gov/appeals 

Notes

https://dor.wa.gov
https://dor.wa.gov/appeals
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Personal property tax

Notes

Personal property tax
Property tax applies to real property such as land and 
improvements to land  Property tax also applies to 
personal property used in conducting business, unless 
exempted by law 

The chief characteristic that distinguishes personal 
property from real property is mobility  Personal 
property includes machinery, equipment, furniture, and 
supplies  It does not include inventory purchased for 
sale 

Administration
County assessors and treasurers administer the property 
tax in Washington  Assessors value property at 100% of 
its true and fair value  Treasurers collect the property 
tax  The Department of Revenue advises assessors and 
treasurers and oversees the valuation and taxation of 
property across the state to ensure uniformity 

Personal property tax listing form
By April 30 of each year, property owners complete 
and file a Personal Property Listing Form with the 
county assessor  Forms are available from your county 
assessor’s office. Each Personal Property Listing Form 

must list all taxable property located in the county that 
was owned on January 1 of that year  For businesses 
with multiple locations, property owners must file a 
separate listing for each location.

Penalty for failure to file
Property owners who do not file a listing of personal 
property by April 30 are subject to an estimated tax 
assessment by the assessor  A penalty of 5% of the tax 
will be added for each month after the deadline the 
listing is filed, up to a maximum penalty of 25% of the 
tax due 

More information
A personal property tax fact sheet is available at dor 
wa.gov. Specific questions about your personal property 
tax listing should be directed to your county assessor. 
Questions about property tax statements should be sent 
to your county treasurer 



dor.wa.gov  |  360-705-6705 19

U
nclaim

ed property

Notes

Unclaimed property
Unclaimed property is money or intangible property 
owed to an individual or business that has not been 
claimed by the owner  Property is considered unclaimed 
after it is held for a period of time with no owner 
contact, and a good faith effort has been made to locate 
the owner 

Abandonment periods
An abandonment period is the time between the day 
the property is due to the owner and the day it becomes 
reportable as unclaimed property  Abandonment 
periods vary depending on the type of property  

Due diligence letters
You are required to attempt to return the unclaimed 
property to its owner  If the property is valued over $75, 
you must send a letter to the owner at least 60 days 
before the deadline to file your unclaimed property 
report. The letter should be sent to the last known 
address you have for the property owner 

Reporting unclaimed property
If the property owner does not respond to your 
attempts to return the property, then you must report it 
to the department by October 31, except for insurance 
companies  Insurance companies must report by April 
30  

Searching for your unclaimed property
You might have property that was reported and is being 
held by the department  You can search your name or 
your business name to see if you have property owed to 
you at ucp dor wa gov 

https://dor.wa.gov
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Filing a return

Notes

Filing a return
Electronic filing (My DOR)
Electronic filing is required for nearly all businesses. 
This free service is accessed through our website  Our 
electronic filing allows you to:

• Customize your tax return, showing only the tax 
classifications you need.

• Calculate taxes due and flag potential errors, helping 
you avoid costly mistakes 

• Choose an electronic payment method – Bank 
account (ACH Debit), Credit/Debit card or ACH 
credit 

• Save postage and avoid the chance of your return 
being lost or delayed in the mail 

• File your return early and choose the date you want 
your payment withdrawn or charged 

For more information visit, dor.wa.gov/MyDORHelp 

Reporting no business activity
Your business must file a tax return each reporting 
period even if you did not conduct business or receive 
income. You must file your return by using one of the 
following options:

• My DOR: Go to My DOR at dor.wa.gov, file your 
return and check the box to report No business   

• Express file: Go to dor.wa.gov/expressfilenobiz  
No login required. You will need your 9-digit tax 
registration number and the filing period.

• Phone: To use our automated system, call 360-705-
6705. At the greeting enter 1 at each prompt, your 
9-digit tax registration number, and then follow the 
instructions given. At the prompt, enter the filing 
period  

• Mail: Check the “no business activity” box at the 
top of your return, sign and date it, and mail to the 
address listed on the return 

Correcting a previously filed return
If you have reported your taxes incorrectly, you can file 
an amended return to correct the error. If additional 
taxes are due, you should submit the additional tax with 
the amended return. If the original return was filed 
or paid late, then you should also send payment for 
additional interest and penalties due. 

If you overpaid taxes with the original return, a refund 
will be issued or a credit will be applied to your account  
The Department of Revenue can honor refunds for taxes 
paid dating back four calendar years before the year the 
refund request is made 

Returns filed online can be amended online through My 
DOR 

http://dor.wa.gov/MyDORHelp
https://dor.wa.gov
https://dor.wa.gov/expressfilenobiz
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Filing a return

Notes

https://dor.wa.gov
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Services and resources

Services and resources
Our website, dor.wa.gov, offers a wide variety of 
information and resources, including:

Business information update: You can notify us online if 
your business has moved, closed, or changed activities.

Business lookup: Look up information on businesses 
registered in Washington or verify a reseller permit  
Public information includes:

• Business name 

• Open and close dates 

• North American Industry Classification System 
(NAICS) code and description. 

• UBI/Account ID 

• Owner type 

• Reseller permit information includes:

 □ Permit number 

 □ Effective date.

 □ Expiration date.
This information is available for non-commercial 
purposes only 

Electronic filing (My DOR): File and pay taxes online 

Laws and rules (Taxpedia): Search our online database 
for Department of Revenue rules and laws  Also 

research Special Notices, Tax Topic articles, industry 
guides, advisories, administrative decisions, and court 
cases through Taxpedia 

Local offices: Find telephone numbers, office hours, and 
directions to a local office near you.

Motor Urban Transportation Lookup: Find the correct 
transportation code that applies based on the starting 
and ending location. 

Publications and forms: Find our tax guides, fact sheets, 
reports, news releases, and forms online 

Reporting fraud: Report Washington state tax and 
license fraud using our online form  You may also link to 
other state agencies for information on fraud cases and 
consumer protection.

Research statistics: Access research publications, data 
on tax collections, tax-related statistics on business 
activity by industry and geographical area, and other 
statistical information about the state’s tax structure.

Tax Rate Lookup Tool: Find the correct code and tax rate 
for specific locations.

Tax ruling request: Request a binding tax ruling for a 
specific tax question.

Other agencies to contact
Department of Licensing
Professional license registration

www.dol.wa.gov

Department of Social and Health Services
Washington State Support Registry

www.childsupportonline.wa.gov

800-562-0479

If you have one or more employees, you must report all 
newly hired or rehired employees with the Washington 
State Department of Social and Health Services  This 
information is used to collect child support. 

Employment Security
Unemployment insurance, paid family medical leave

www.esd.wa.gov

If you have employees, you must apply for 
unemployment insurance coverage with the Washington 
State Employment Security Department 

https://dor.wa.gov
http://www.dol.wa.gov
http://childsupportonline.wa.gov 
http://www.esd.wa.gov 
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O
ther agencies to contact

Labor and Industries
Industrial insurance (worker’s compensation)

360-902-4817

www.lni.wa.gov

If you have one or more employees, you must apply for 
industrial insurance coverage with the Washington State 
Department of Labor and Industries  Industrial insurance 
is not required for business owners, but if you want it 
you can complete an application for employer coverage. 

Secretary of State
Corporations Division

360-725-0377

www.secstate.wa.gov/corps

Contact the Secretary of State’s office to file Articles 
of Incorporation or a Certificate of Limited Partnership 
if your business has either type of ownership  The 
Secretary of State also registers trademarks 

Small Business Liaison Team
www.business.wa.gov

Find information and services from multiple agencies to 
help you start, register, operate, and grow your business  

City and county taxing offices
You will need to contact the city or county directly for 
information. 

Internal Revenue Service
Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)

Individuals: 800-829-1040

Businesses: 800-829-4933

www.irs.gov

If you pay unemployment taxes, such as industrial and 
employment insurance, you need to have a FEIN  In 
some special cases, businesses without employees may 
be required to obtain a FEIN 

Notes

https://dor.wa.gov
http://www.lni.wa.gov 
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
http://www.business.wa.gov
http://www.irs.gov 
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Tax incentives

Notes

Tax incentives
We offer many tax incentives for businesses. The 
tax incentives may apply to B&O tax, retail sales tax, 
leasehold excise tax, or property tax  Here we have listed 
the general categories of incentives that are available. 
The qualifying criteria is specific and can be found on 
our website at dor wa gov  

Please note: If your business claims a tax incentive, 
you may be required to file an Annual Tax Performance 
Report by May 31 of each year 

• Aerospace

• Biofuel Industry

• Data Centers

• Employer Credits

• Extracting & Timber Manufacturing

• Farming & Agriculture Industries

• Food Manufacturing Industry

• General Manufacturing

• Leasehold Excise Tax (LET) Exemption

• Miscellaneous Incentives

• Renewable Energy/Green Incentives

• Rural County / Community Empowerment Zone 
(CEZ) Incentives

• Semiconductor Industry

• Warehouse Incentives
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Due dates

Due dates

January

1 Personal Property Inventory
25 December Excise Tax Return Due
31 Quarter 4 Excise Tax Return Due
31 Quarter 4 Forest Excise Tax Return Due
31 Quarter 4 Leasehold Excise Tax Return Due
31 Annual Leasehold Excise Tax Return for Federal Permit/Lease Due

February 25 January Excise Tax Return Due
March 25 February Excise Tax Return Due

April

15 Annual Excise Tax Return Due
25 March Excise Tax Return Due
30 Quarter 1 Excise Tax Return Due
30 Quarter 1 Forest Excise Tax Return Due
30 Quarter 1 Leasehold Excise Tax Return Due
30 Personal Property Tax Listing Due to County Assessor
30 First half of property tax due
30 Unclaimed Property report due for insurance companies only

May
25 April Excise Tax Return Due
31 Annual Tax Performance Reports Due (for incentive programs)

June 25 May Excise Tax Return Due

July

1 Personal Property Tax Appeal Due to County Assessor
25 June Excise Tax Return Due
31 Quarter 2 Excise Tax Return Due
31 Quarter 2 Forest Excise Tax Return Due
31 Quarter 2 Leasehold Excise Tax Return Due

August 25 July Excise Tax Return Due
September 25 August Excise Tax Return Due

October

25 September Excise Tax Return Due
31 Quarter 3 Excise Tax Return Due
31 Quarter 3 Forest Excise Tax Return Due
31 Quarter 3 Leasehold Excise Tax Return Due
31 Annual Reconciliation of Apportionable Income Due
31 Second Half of Property Tax Due
31 Unclaimed Property Report Due (except insurance companies)

November 25 October Excise Tax Return Due
December 25 November Excise Tax Return Due

*If the due date falls on a weekend or state holiday, then the due date moves to the next business day 

**This list is not an exhaustive list of due dates. Check our website for additional due dates that may apply to your 
business 

https://dor.wa.gov
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A | Confidential Licensing Inform
ation Authorization

A | Confidential Licensing Information 
Authorization

Confidential Licensing Information Authorization

REV 700 002 (8/6/24)    Page 1 of 3

A My information

Owner name:    

UBI number:    Phone:    

B Which authorization are you providing? 

  1. Send my confidential licensing information by email or fax. 

By checking this box, I authorize the department to send my confidential licensing information using regular 
email to all email addresses or fax numbers listed on this form.  
I am aware of the department’s secure message system described on page 3. I know regular email and fax are 
not as secure, and confidential information may be intercepted by unauthorized persons. I accept these condi-
tions and waive any violation of confidentiality resulting from use of unsecured email or fax (RCW 19.02.115). 

Email:    Fax number: 

  2. Share my confidential licensing information with the individuals/company listed below. 
If you are authorizing an entire company, add the words “and staff” to the company name you are granting 
access to. If authorizing specific people, add additional name(s) in the Authorized names section.  

Individual or company name:  

Mailing address:  

City:   State:  Zip:  Phone:    

Check the appropriate box below:

  Any information for any time period.

  Certain information.  

List the specific information or time period to be shared:  
 
 
 

 

Confidential Licensing Information Authorization 
Use this form to authorize the Department of Revenue to:

• Send confidential licensing information through unsecure email or fax 
(to you or an authorized third party) and/or

• Share your confidential licensing information with a third party.
Any information included on this form will not be used to update your 
account information. Log into your My DOR at dor.wa.gov to make any 
updates. 

Form 700 002

To request this document in an alternate format, please complete the form dor.wa.gov/AccessibilityRequest 
or call 360-705-6705. Teletype (TTY) users please dial 711.

Reset form

https://dor.wa.gov
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A | Confidential Licensing Inform
ation Authorization

Confidential Licensing Information Authorization

REV 700 002 (8/6/24)    Page 2 of 3

Authorized Names
Only include email address/fax number if you checked the “send my confidential licensing information by 
email or fax” below. Attach additional pages if needed.  

Authorized name:  

Email:  Fax number: 

Authorized name:  

Email:    Fax number: 

C Signature
I authorize the Department of Revenue to share my confidential licensing information as indicated on page 1 of 
this form. I declare, under penalty of perjury, that I am authorized to sign this form. I am listed as the real 
property owner or as the business owner, partner, corporate officer, or LLC member or manager in official 
records held by Washington State, or I have attached documentation (for example: power of attorney, 
annual report) that grants me the authority to sign.

Signature:    Date: 

Print name:  Title: 

This authorization remains in effect until revoked in writing by either party. Keep a copy for your files. To 
revoke this authorization, write “Revoke” across the front of this form and return it to the department as 
indicated in the next section.

What to do next
ATTN (if you are working with a Revenue employee, list name here): 

Submit this form by fax, email, or mail:

Fax:  360-705-6699
Email:  bls@dor.wa.gov
Mail:  Dept. of Revenue 
  Business Licensing Service 
  PO Box 47475 
  Olympia, WA 98504-7475

For licensing questions, please call 360-705-6741.
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B | Sam
ple Reseller Perm

it

 

RESELLER PERMIT
Washington State Department of Revenue

PO Box 47476 • Olympia, WA 98504-7476 • 360-705-6705

Important: The Department of Revenue may use information from sellers to verify all purchases made with this 
permit were qualified.

This permit can be used to purchase:
• Merchandise and inventory for resale without intervening use
• Ingredients, components, or chemicals used in processing new articles of tangible personal property produced  

for sale
• Feed, seed, seedlings, fertilizer, and spray materials by a farmer
• Materials and contract labor for retail/wholesale construction
• Items for dual purposes (see Purchases for Dual Purposes on back)

This permit cannot be used to purchase:
• Items for personal or household use
• Promotional items or gifts
• Items used in your business that are not resold, such as office supplies, equipment, tools, and equipment rentals
• Materials and contract labor for public road construction or U.S. government contracting (see Definitions on back)
• Materials and contract labor for speculative building

This permit is no longer valid if the business is closed.

The business named on this permit acknowledges:
• It is solely responsible for all purchases made under this permit
• Misuse of the permit: 

 – Subjects the business to a penalty of 50 percent of the tax due, in addition to the tax, interest, and penalties 
imposed (RCW 82.32.291)

 – May result in this permit being revoked

Notes (optional):

STATE OF  
WASHINGTON

Reseller: Keep this original permit on file. Provide copies to sellers from which you make purchases.

DETACH HERE

Business Activities:

SA
MP

LE

B | Sample Reseller Permit

https://dor.wa.gov
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C | Confidential Tax Inform
ation Authorization

C | Confidential Tax Information Authorization
Confidential Tax Information Authorization

REV 42 2446 (10/31/23)    Page 1 of 3

My information (This information will not be used to update your business record.*)

Taxpayer or business name:  Account ID/UBI number:  

Mailing address:   City:  State:  Zip:  

Phone:  Email:   Fax:   
*To update your business record, go to dor.wa.gov and log in to your My DOR account.

Which authorization are you providing? (For third party authorizations, complete A and B.)

 A.  Send my confidential tax information by email or fax.
By checking this box, I authorize the department to send my confidential tax information using 
regular email or fax to all email addresses or fax numbers listed on this form.
I am aware of the department’s secure message system described on page 3. I know regular 
email and fax are not as secure, and confidential information may be intercepted by unauthorized 
persons. I accept these conditions and waive any violation of confidentiality resulting from use of 
unsecured email or fax. (RCW 82.32.330) 

 B.  Share my confidential tax information with the individuals/company listed below.
If you are not authorizing a third party, skip this section and go to the signature page. If you are 
authorizing an entire company or a Legislator’s office, add the words “and staff.” If authorizing 
specific people, add additional name(s) in the Authorized names/email section. 

Individual or company name:  

Mailing address:   City:   State:  Zip: 

Phone:  Email:   Fax:   
Check the appropriate box below:

 Any information for any reporting period.
 Any information for this reporting period: 

Month/quarter/year:  to Month/quarter/year:  
 Only listed information for this reporting period. 

Month/quarter/year:  to Month/quarter/year:  

Information to be shared: 
List authorized names. Include email addresses only if you’ve checked the box in section A.  

Confidential Tax Information Authorization 
Use this form to authorize the Department of Revenue to:

• Send confidential tax information through unsecure email or fax (to 
you or an authorized third party) and/or

• Share your confidential tax information with a third party.

Form 42 2446

To request this document in an alternate format, please complete the form dor.wa.gov/AccessibilityRequest 
or call 360-705-6705. Teletype (TTY) users please dial 711.

Reset form
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C | Confidential Tax Inform
ation Authorization

Confidential Tax Information Authorization

REV 42 2446 (10/31/23)    Page 2 of 3

Signature
I authorize the Department of Revenue to share my confidential tax information as indicated on page 1 of 
this form. I declare, under penalty of perjury, that I am authorized to sign this form. I am listed as the real 
property owner or as the business owner, partner, corporate officer, or LLC member or manager in official 
records held by Washington State, or I have attached documentation (for example: power of attorney, 
annual report, executor) that grants me the authority to sign.

Taxpayer signature:  Title:  Date: 

Print name:  City and state where signed: 
This authorization remains in effect until revoked in writing by either party. Keep a copy for your files. To 
revoke this authorization, write “Revoke” across the front of this form and return it to the department as 
indicated in the next section

What to do next
ATTN (if you are working with a Revenue employee, write their name here): 

Submit this form by fax, email, or mail:

Fax:  360-705-6175
Email:  DORTAAFaxIn@dor.wa.gov
Mail:  Dept. of Revenue 
  Taxpayer Account Administration - ICAP 
  PO Box 47476 
  Olympia, WA 98504-7476

https://dor.wa.gov
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Business activity Tax classification Rules/laws 

Accounting, Bookkeeping,   
Tax Preparation 

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Actuarial Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Advertising Agencies Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-218 

Amusement & Recreation 
Services

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-183, 
RCW 82 04 050 

Appraiser Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Architects Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O,  
Retail Sales Tax

WAC 458-20-170; 224

Athletic Clubs Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-183, 
ETA 3098, ETA 3104

Attorneys Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-207

Auto Repair Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-173, Auto 
Dealer Guide

Beauty Salons/Barbers Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, 
Litter Tax

WAC 458-20-138; 224, 
Beauticians Tax Guide 

Boat Washing & Detailing Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-173

Business Cconsulting Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Car Washes (including 
self-service facilities) and 
Detailing Services

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Litter Tax WAC 458-20-173; 243

Catering Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O WAC 458-20-119; 124; 
Restaurant Guide; 
Special Notice: Personal 
Chefs 

Child care Child Care B&O WAC 458-20-167,  
Child Care Operators

Collection Contract 
(without escrow) 

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-156 

The following is a list of common business activities and which tax classifications to use on the Excise Tax 
Return. It provides general guidelines, not specific reporting instructions.

If you conduct multiple business activities, it may be necessary to report under more than one tax 
classification. Specific activities, such as cigarette sales, may also be subject to other taxes.

If you have questions, contact us or visit your local Revenue office 

D | Common Business Activities Table

https://dor.wa.gov/contact
https://dor.wa.gov/contact/local-offices
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Commission 
Salespersons/Agents/
Representatives

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-159; 224

Computer Services Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, 
Wholesaling B&O

WAC 458-20-15501; 224 

Consumer Goods Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O, Litter Tax RCW 82 04 050 

Construction Wholesaling B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Public Road 
Construction B&O, Government Contracting B&O 

WAC 458-20-170; 
17001; 171; 172; 173; 
Construction Tax Guide 

Court Reporters Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Credit Bureau Services Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax RCW 82 04 050 

Data Processing Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-15503

Dating, Escort Services Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax RCW 82 04 050

Dental Labs Manufacturing B&O, Wholesaling B&O WAC 458-20-151

Dentists/Orthodontists Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-151

Direct Sellers Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, 
Litter Tax

WAC 458-20-224; 246; 
Direct Sellers/Multilevel 
Organizations Guide

Design Services Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O,  
Retail Sales Tax

WAC 458-20-224;  
RCW 82 04 050 

Disk Jockeys Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224

Dry Cleaners Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-165

Engineers Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O,  
Retail Sales Tax

WAC 458-20-170; 224

Entertainers Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224

Escrow Services Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-156 

Farming for Hire Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-209,  
Agriculture Guide

Business activity Tax classification Rules/laws 

https://dor.wa.gov
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Games of Chance Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-131; 
Games, Gambling and 
Similar Income Guide 

Graphic Design Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O,  
Retail Sales Tax 

WAC 458-20-224;  
WAC 458-20-15503; 
RCW 82 04 050 

Grocery & Convenience 
Stores 

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Litter Tax WAC 458-20-244, 243, 
Convenience Stores 
Guide

Handyman Services Wholesaling B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-170; 173

Horse Boarding Service & Other Activities B&O Horse Industry Guide

Hotels, Motels Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Convention & Trade, Special Hotel/
Motel, Service & Other Activities B&O 

WAC 458-20-118; 124;  
166; Lodging Industry 
Guide

Insurance Adjuster, Agent, 
Broker, Solicitor 

Insurance Agent Commissions WAC 458-20-164; 163 

Internet Service Providers Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224; 
RCW 82 04 297

Interpreters Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224

Janitorial Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-172

Landscape/Lawn 
Maintenance/Gardeners

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-226; 
RCW 82 04 050

Laundry Services Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-165; 173; 
Special Notice: Self-
service Laundry Facilities

Legal, Arbitration, & 
Mediation

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-207; 224 

Logging Extracting B&O, Extracting For Hire B&O, Manufacturing B&O, 
Wholesaling B&O

WAC 458-20-13501

Mailing Bureaus Manufacturing B&O; Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax,  
Wholesaling B&O

WAC 458-20-141 

New Construction 
Cleanup

Wholesaling B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-170; 172

Business activity Tax classification Rules/laws 
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Newspaper Delivery/Sales Urban Transportation Public Utility Tax, Motor Transportation 
Public Utility Tax, Retailing B&O

WAC 458-20-180; 143

Optometrists Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, 
Retail Sales Tax

WAC 458-20-150

Painting Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O, Government 
Contracting B&O

WAC 458-20-173; 170; 
17001; Construction Tax 
Guide

Personal Trainers Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-183; ETA 
3104

Photographers Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O, Service & Other 
Activities B&O, Royalties B&O

WAC 458-20-140

Physicians Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-138; 151; 
18801

Pressure Washing Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Wholesaling B&O WAC 458-20-173; 
RCW 82 04 050

Private Investigators Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224

Protective Services Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224 

Remodeling Wholesaling B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-170

Rental of Equipment 
with Operator 

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-211; 
RCW 82 04 050; 
Construction Tax Guide

Repair of Tangible 
Personal Property

Wholesaling B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-173

Restaurants Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Litter Tax WAC 458-20-119; 124; 
Restaurant Guide 

Ride Share/Food Delivery 
Drivers

Urban Transportation Public Utility Tax, Motor Transportation 
Public Utility Tax

WAC 458-20-180

Royalties Royalties B&O RCW 82 04 2907

Sales of Goods to US 
Government

Retailing B&O WAC 458-20-190; 
Tax Topic: How to 
document United States 
government purchases

Sales to State/Local 
Government/Schools

Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-189

Secretarial/Clerical/
Stenographers

Service & Other Activities B&O WAC 458-20-224

Business activity Tax classification Rules/laws 

https://dor.wa.gov
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Software Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-15502; 
RCW 82 04 215

Tanning Salons Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax RCW 82 04 050; 
Beauticians Tax Guide

Tattooing Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax RCW 82 04 050; 
Beauticians Tax Guide

Taverns Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, Litter Tax, Service & Other Activities 
B&O

WAC 458-20-119; 124; 
131; 243; Restaurants 
and Retailers of 
Prepared Food Guide 

Taxis Urban Transportation Public Utility Tax, Motor Transportation 
Public Utility Tax

WAC 458-20-180; 179

Tour Operators Travel Agent Commission/Tour Operators B&O, Retailing B&O, 
Retail Sales Tax

RCW 82 04 260;  
WAC 458-20-183; 258

Travel Agents Travel Agent Commission/Tour Operators B&O WAC 458-20-258 

Trucking/Transportation Urban Transportation Public Utility Tax, Motor Transportation 
Public Utility Tax

WAC 458-20-180; 179; 
193D

Vending Machines Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-243; 244 

Veterinarians Service & Other Activities B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax, 
Litter Tax

WAC 458-20-222; 243; 
Veterinarians Guide

Yard Maintenance Wholesaling B&O, Retailing B&O, Retail Sales Tax WAC 458-20-226

Business activity Tax classification Rules/laws 
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Local offices

Prepared by the Customer Expierence and 
Communications Division

TPS0017      11/22/2024

For tax assistance or to request this document in an alternate format, visit dor.wa.gov or call 
360-705-6705. Teletype (TTY) users may use the Washington Relay Service by calling 711. 

Bellingham
1904 Humboldt St, Suite A
Bellingham, WA 98225
360-594-4840

Bothell
12100 Northeast 195th St.
Suite 100
Bothell, WA 98011
425-984-6400

Kent
20819 72nd Ave South, Suite 680
Kent, WA 98032
425-656-5100

Port Angeles
734 E First St, Suite B
Port Angeles, WA 98362
360-417-9900

Richland
1657 Fowler St
Richland, WA 99352
509-987-1201

Seattle
2101 4th Ave, Suite 1400
Seattle, WA 98121
206-727-5300

Spokane
1330 N Washington, Suite 5600
Spokane, WA 99201
509-327-0200

Tacoma
3315 South 23rd St, Suite 300
Tacoma, WA 98411
253-382-2000

Tumwater
6500 Linderson Way SW, Suite 102
Tumwater, WA 98501
360-705-6705

Vancouver
8008 NE 4th Plain Blvd, Suite 320
PO Box 1648
Vancouver, WA 98668
360-256-2060

Wenatchee
630 N Chelan Ave, Suite B3
Wenatchee, WA 98807
509-885-9825

Yakima
3703 River Rd, Suite 3
Yakima, WA 98902
509-454-5160

http://dor.wa.gov 
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