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PERSONAL AND CORPORATE INCOME TAXES

Personal Income Tax

Forty-three states currently have a personal income tax.  New Hampshire and Tennessee tax
only "intangible" income (interest and dividends).  The remaining 41 states have "broad-
based" income taxes, with most sources of income subject to tax.  (See Table 1.)

In 1932, Washington voters approved an initiative establishing a personal income tax.
However, the State Supreme Court ruled this initiative unconstitutional.  Since then, the
voters have defeated six constitutional amendments enacting a personal income tax.  The last
proposal in 1973 was defeated 77 percent to 23 percent.  Subsequent efforts at enacting a
personal income tax have died in the Legislature.

State income taxes are generally tied in varying degrees to the federal IRS personal income
tax statutes.  This creates a number of administrative efficiencies for the states.  It also makes
it simpler for the taxpayer to comply.  While most income is subject to tax under a broad-
based structure, some sources of income may be considered nontaxable (e.g. certain types of
pension income, interest from bonds issued by other government entities).  Allowable
deductions and personal exemptions may also reduce taxable income for filers and their
dependents.  Exemptions subtract a fixed amount per household member.  Deductions may
also subtract a fixed ("standard") amount per return or per return by filing status (single,
joint, etc.).  States may also allow itemized deductions similar to those allowed under the IRS
personal income tax code.

Once taxable income is determined, the entire amount may be subject to tax at a single "flat"
rate.  Or it may be subject to tax through a "graduated rate" structure, with the marginal tax
rate(s) increasing as taxable income increases.  (For information on high and low rates by
state, see Table 2.)

Advantages of Personal Income Tax

•  Graduated rates create a "progressive" tax structure, with higher income returns paying a
proportionately higher percentage of their income than lower income filers.

•  Personal income tax may be partially "exported" to the federal government as state
income tax paid is allowed as an itemized deduction.  This lowers the amount of federal
tax paid by state taxpayers.

•  Having a tax tied to the IRS code can create administrative efficiencies and enhance
enforcement efforts.
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Disadvantages of Personal Income Tax

•  Adoption of a personal income tax would require the establishment of a large
administrative operation in a relatively short period of time.

•  Under the 1932 Supreme Court ruling, the enactment of anything other than a flat rate tax
of one percent or less may require a constitutional amendment.

•  The prospects for voter approval of a state income tax are not promising in light of the
history of prior attempts.

Corporate Net Income Tax

Corporate net income tax is currently levied in 46 states.  All these states either adopt or
heavily refer to the federal IRS corporate income tax code.  The application of corporate
income tax by states is greatly complicated by multi-state firms and by the complexities of
corporate organization.  (For information on rates by state, see Table 2.)

By federal law, an out-of-state firm generally must have both a permanent physical presence
and employees within a state to be subject to tax.  Attribution of profits may be done through
"separate accounting" at the establishment level within a state.  It may also be done through
"apportionment" based on payroll, property and sales.  Apportionment methods are not
uniform--some states double-weight sales or use sales as the single factor (see Table 3).
Further complications are caused by the complexities of corporate organizations, with
holding companies and parent-subsidiary relationships.  Some states tend to treat
corporations within a holding company as separate entities.  Others have pursued a "unitary"
approach, viewing the overall corporation as the taxable entity.

Advantages of Corporate Income Tax

•  Perception of fairness in taxing profits rather than total sales or activity.
•  Possibility of interstate cooperation on issues affecting the great majority of states.

Disadvantages of Corporate Income Tax

•  Corporate income tax is an extremely volatile tax, with revenue levels subject to great
fluctuations and generally much lower during economic downturns.

•  Generally, state corporate income taxes are declining as a long-term source of revenue.
•  The tax is subject to great accounting complexity and potential manipulation with respect

to taxable net income.
•  There is no direct relation between profitability and dependence on government services.



Table 1
Utilization of Retail Sales and Income Taxes

In All States, 2001
Personal Income Tax

Retail Sales Tax Corporate Net Interest/Dividends
State Local Income Tax Broad-based Only

Alabama X X X X
Alaska X X
Arizona X X X X
Arkansas X X X X
California X X X X
Colorado X X X X
Connecticut X X X
Delaware X X
Florida X X X
Georgia X X X X
Hawaii X X X
Idaho X X X X
Illinois X X X X
Indiana X X X
Iowa X X X X
Kansas X X X X
Kentucky X X X
Louisiana X X X X
Maine X X X
Maryland X X X
Massachusetts X X X
Michigan X X X
Minnesota X X X X
Mississippi X X X
Missouri X X X X
Montana X X
Nebraska X X X X
Nevada X X
New Hampshire X X
New Jersey X X X
New Mexico X X X X
New York X X X X
North Carolina X X X X
North Dakota X X X X
Ohio X X X X
Oklahoma X X X X
Oregon X X
Pennsylvania X X X X
Rhode Island X X X
South Carolina X X X X
South Dakota X X
Tennessee X X X X
Texas X X X
Utah X X X X
Vermont X X X X
Virginia X X X X
WASHINGTON X X
West Virginia X X X
Wisconsin X X X X
Wyoming X X
Number of States
Imposing This Tax 45 34 46 41 2



Table 2
Personal and Corporate Income Tax Rates, January 1, 2002

Personal Income [1]
State Lowest Rate Highest Rate Corporation

Bracket  % Bracket  %   Income %
Alabama……. 1st $500 2 Over $3,000 5 [2] 6.5
Alaska……….. -- -- -- -- 1 to 9.4
Arizona……… 1st $10,000 2.87 Over $150,000 5.04 6.968
Arkansas……. 1st $2,999 1 Over $25,000 7 1 to 6.5 [2]
California……. 1st $5,454 1 Over $35,792 9.3 [2] 8.84
Colorado…….. 4.63% of federal taxable income 4.63
Connecticut…. 1st $10,000 3 Over $10,000 4.5 7.5
Delaware……. $2,000- 2.2 Over $60,000 5.95 [2] 8.7
Florida……….. -- -- -- -- 5.5
Georgia………. 1st $750 1 Over $7,000 6 6
Hawaii……….. 1st $2,000 1.4 Over $40,000 8.3 4.4 to 6.4
Idaho…………. 1st $1,000 0.6 Over $20,000 7.8 7.6
Illinois…………. 3% of taxable income 7.3
Indiana……….. 3.4% of adjusted gross income [2] 7.9
Iowa………….. 1st $1,162 0.36 Over $52,290 8.98 6 to 12
Kansas………. 1st $15,000 3.5 Over $30,000 6.45 4 [2]
Kentucky…….. 1st $3,000 2 Over $8,000 6 [2] 4 to 8.25 [2]
Louisiana…….. 1st $10,000 2 Over $50,000 6 4 to 8
Maine………… 1st $4,150 2 Over $16,500 8.5 3.5 to 8.93
Maryland…….. 1st $1,000 2 Over $3,000 4.75 [2] 7
Massachusetts. 5.3% of taxable income 9.5
Michigan……… 4.1% of adjusted gross income [2] 2.1 [2]
Minnesota……. 1st $17,570 5.35 Over $57,710 7.85 9.8
Mississippi…… 1st $5,000 3 Over $10,000 5 3 to 5
Missouri……… 1st $1,000 1.5 Over $9,000 6 [2] 6.25
Montana……….. 1st $2,100 2 Over $73,000 11 6.75
Nebraska……… 1st $2,400 2.51 Over $26,500 6.68 5.58 to 7.81
Nevada………… -- -- -- -- --
New Hampshire. Interest and dividends - 5% 8
New Jersey…… 1st $20,000 1.4 Over $75,000 6.37 [2] 9.0
New Mexico….. 1st $5,500 1.7 Over $65,000 8.2 4.8 to 7.6
New York…….. 1st $8,000 4 Over $20,000 6.85 [2] 7.5 [2]
North Carolina… 1st $12,750 6 Over $60,000 8.25 6.9
North Dakota….. 1st $3,000 2.1 Over $50,000 5.54 3 to 10.5
Ohio……………. 1st $5,000 0.743 Over $200,000 7.5 [2] 5.1 to 8.5 [2]
Oklahoma……… 1st $1,000 0.5 Over $10,000 6.65 6
Oregon………… 1st $2,350 5 Over $5,850 9 [2] 6.6 [2]
Pennsylvania…. 2.8% of taxable income [2] 9.99 [2]
Rhode Island….. 25.5% of federal tax 9
South Carolina… 1st $2,310 2.5 Over $11,550 7 5
South Dakota…. -- -- -- -- --
Tennessee……. Interest and dividends - 6% 6
Texas………….. -- -- -- -- 4.5 [3]
Utah……………. 1st $750 2.3 Over $3,750 7 5
Vermont……….. 24% of federal tax 7.0 to 9.75
Virginia………… 1st $3,000 2 Over $17,000 5.75 6
Washington…… -- -- -- -- --
West Virginia…. 1st $10,000 3 Over $60,000 6.5 9
Wisconsin…….. 1st $10,000 4.6 Over $150,000 6.75 7.9
Wyoming………. -- -- -- -- --
Sources:  Federation of Tax Administrators; "State Tax Guide," Commerce Clearing House, Inc.; Energy Information Administration
[1]  The brackets indicated apply to single taxpayers, but most states allow or require joint return filers to split their income.
[2]  Local units of government may impose additional taxes.



Table 3

STATE APPORTIONMENT OF CORPORATE INCOME
(Formulas for tax year 2002 -- as of January 1, 2002)

ALABAMA * 3 Factor MONTANA * 3 Factor
ALASKA * 3 Factor NEBRASKA Sales
ARIZONA * Double wtd. sales NEVADA No State Income Tax
ARKANSAS * Double wtd. sales NEW HAMPSHIRE Double wtd. Sales
CALIFORNIA * Double wtd. sales NEW JERSEY (1) Double wtd. Sales
COLORADO * 3 Factor/Sales & Property NEW MEXICO * Double wtd. sales
CONNECTICUT Double wtd. sales/Sales NEW YORK Double wtd sales
DELAWARE 3 Factor NORTH CAROLINA Double wtd. sales
FLORIDA * Double wtd. sales NORTH DAKOTA * 3 Factor
GEORGIA Double wtd. sales OHIO 60% Sales, 20% Property
HAWAII * 3 Factor & Payroll
IDAHO * Double wtd. sales OKLAHOMA 3 Factor
ILLINOIS Sales OREGON * Double wtd. sales
INDIANA Double wtd. sales PENNSYLVANIA * Triple wtd. sales
IOWA Sales RHODE ISLAND 3 Factor
KANSAS * 3 Factor SOUTH CAROLINA Double wtd. sales/Sales
KENTUCKY * Double wtd. sales SOUTH DAKOTA No State Income Tax
LOUISIANA Double wtd. sales TENNESSEE * Double wtd. sales
MAINE * Double wtd. sales TEXAS Sales
MARYLAND Double wtd. sales UTAH + 3 Factor
MASSACHUSETTS* Double wtd. sales/Sales VERMONT 3 Factor
MICHIGAN 90% Sales, 5% Property VIRGINIA Double wtd. sales

& Payroll WASHINGTON No State Income Tax
MINNESOTA 75% Sales,12.5% Property, WEST VIRGINIA Double wtd. sales

and 12.5% Payroll WISCONSIN * Double wtd. sales
MISSISSIPPI Accounting/3 Factor WYOMING No State Income Tax
MISSOURI * 3 Factor/sales DIST. OF COLUMBIA 3 Factor

Source: Compiled by FTA from various sources.
Note: The formulas listed are for general manufacturing businesses. Some industries have special formula
different than those reported.
* State has adopted substantial portions of the UDITPA.
(1) A 3-factor formula is used for corporations not subject to the corporation business franchise tax.


