

Form 82 2090

**Taxpayer Account Administration Division**PO Box 47476
Olympia, WA 98504-7476

# **Tax Declaration for Cigarettes**

Taxes are due within 72 hours of possession.

Official use only

Period:

Year:

Tax registration number:

St	ep 1 - Enter your name and a	ddr	ess			
	Address change? Check the box and	writ	e your corre	cted address be	low.	
La	st name (please print):	First:			Middle initial:	
St	reet address (include apartment numb	er):				
Cit	ty:		State:	Zip:	Pl	none:
St	ep 2 - To avoid duplicate billin	ng,	please pr	ovide the pu	ırchas	e information
Со	ompany name:					
M	onth of purchase(s):					
Inv	voice number(s):					
St	ep 3 - To calculate taxes due,	ple	ase follo	w the steps b	elow	
1.	Cigarette tax (code 287) Number of	carto	ons	<b>X</b> \$30.25	=	Tax due
2.	Enter the amount of tax due from line 1					
3.	Total amount paid					
	(include shipping and handling)		+			
4.	Add lines 2 and 3 to calculate the total taxable amount for sales/use tax	al				
5.	Sales/use tax owed (codes 05 and 46) Location code:					
	Amount from line 4:	X	Total tax ra	ite:	=	Tax due
	ote: To determine the location code(s) and e page two for complete instructions.	tax	rate(s), use o	ır Tax Rate Looku <sub>l</sub>	o Tool lo	cated on <u>dor.wa.gov.</u>
6.	Total - Cigarette and use tax due (add	d tax	due from li	nes 1 and 5):		
Sig	gnature:				D	ate:
W	/hat to do next					
1.	. Make check payable to Department of Revenue.					
2.	Mail form and check to:					
	Department of Revenue					
	PO Box 47476					
	Olympia, WA 98504-7476					

To ask about the availability of this publication in an alternate format for the visually impaired, please call 360-705-6705. Teletype (TTY) users may use the WA Relay Service by calling 711.



## Instructions and more information

Please note: Taxes must be paid within 72 hours of possession.

Under state law, consumers are required to pay Washington taxes on cigarettes possessed in Washington. When you buy from a retailer in Washington, the taxes have been paid (as evidenced by the Washington state cigarette tax stamp). When you purchase cigarettes that do not bear the Washington state cigarette tax stamp, the cigarette tax and sales/use tax must be declared and paid.

Tax declarations and payments may be submitted online at dor.wa.gov.

### Tax Rate per carton of cigarettes

For purchases on or after May 1, 2010, the tax rate per carton is \$30.25.

#### Determine location code and use tax rate

The rate of use tax is determined by the location where the item is first used in Washington. Normally, this will be the location of your residence.

To determine the location code(s) and sales/use tax rate(s), use our Tax Rate Lookup Tool (GIS) located on dor.wa.gov. Enter the address for the location of first use in Washington, and click on "Search." The Tax Rate Lookup Tool will provide the location code and total tax rate. Enter this information on line 5, page 1.

# **Smoking cessation resources**

Washington State Department of Health Tobacco Quit Line web site: quitline.com

If you have additional questions, please contact the Taxpayer Account Administration Division at 360-705-6219.