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Special Event Promoters - Requirements 

Originally issued July 1, 2003 -- Revised May 2006; Revised August 2009 

In 2004, the Legislature updated RCW 82.32.033. Promoters are now required to make a “good faith effort” 
to verify that vendors at their events are registered to do business with the Department of Revenue. The bill 
clarifies that the records required of promoters must be preserved for a period of one year from the date of 
the special event. In addition, the bill provides that promoters must make a good faith effort to comply with 
the requirement to provide the Department with information relating to a special event within twenty days of 
receiving a written request from the Department for the information. 

If you have questions about any of the requirements for special event promoters, contact the Tax Discovery 
Central Unit at 1-866-248-1287 or 2101 4th Avenue, Suite 1400, Seattle WA 98121. 

Current requirements 
The law requires that promoters of special events must: 

• 	Make a good faith effort to obtain verification that each vendor who will make or solicit retail sales of 
tangible personal property or services at an event has a valid tax registration number with the Washington 
Department of Revenue. Vendors not registered with the Department of Revenue cannot participate in the 
special event unless they are exempt from the registration requirements and certify in writing to the promoter 
that they are exempt. 

• 	Make a good faith effort to record: the date and place of each special event, and the name, complete mailing 
address, and Washington tax registration number of each vendor. 

• 	Make a good faith effort to maintain these records for one year after the date of the special event. 

• 	Make a good faith effort to provide the above-noted event and vendor information to the Department of 
Revenue within 20 days of receiving a written request from the Department. 

Exemptions for promoters 
The above requirements and penalties do not apply to: 

• 	Events organized for the exclusive benefit of a nonprofit organization (as defined in RCW 82.04.3651), so 
that all of the gross proceeds of all vendor sales benefit the nonprofit organization. 

• 	Special events where the promoter charges vendors $200 or less to participate, or where the promoter 
charges a percentage of sales instead of, or in addition to, a flat charge to participate, and the promoter, in 
good faith, believes that no vendor will pay more than $200 to participate. 

• 	On-going athletic contests involving team competition, when more than five contests are held per calendar 
year by at least one team at the same location. 



  

 

Who is a promoter? 
A “promoter” is defined as a person that organizes, operates, or sponsors a special event and who contracts 
with vendors to participate in the special event. 

A person is not a “promoter” if they only provide a venue, supplies, furnishings, fixtures, equipment, or services 
for a special event but do not organize, operate, or sponsor the event. 

What is a special event? 
A “special event” is defined as an entertainment, amusement, recreational, educational, or marketing event, 
held on a regular or irregular basis, where more than one vendor makes or solicits retail sales of goods or 
services. 

Some examples include: 

• 	Auto, recreational vehicle, or boat shows, 
• 	Home, garden, or craft shows, 
• 	Antique shows, carnivals, circuses, or fairs. 

What is a good faith effort to comply or good faith effort to obtain? 
A “good faith effort to comply” or a “good faith effort to obtain” may be evidenced by (but is not limited to) 
circumstances where the promoter: 

• 	Includes a statement on all written contracts with vendors that a valid tax registration certificate with the 
Department of Revenue is required to participate in the event and requires vendors to note their registration 
number on the contracts; and 

• 	Provides the Department, within 20 days of receiving a written request, a list of vendors and their registration 
numbers. 

Penalties for not complying 
Promoters that don’t make a good faith effort to comply with these requirements are subject to the following 
penalties: 

• 	$100 for each unregistered vendor that is permitted to sell goods or services at a special event sponsored by 
them. (Excluding vendors who are exempt and provide certification to the promoter in writing to document 
their exempt status.) 

• 	$250 if the event and vendor information requested by the Department of Revenue is not received by the 
Department within 20 days of the request. 

• 	$100 for each vendor for whom the requested information is not provided to the Department. 

• 	The aggregate of all penalties may not exceed $2,500 for a special event if the promoter has not previously 
been penalized under RCW 82.32.033. 

Vendors – registering with the Department of Revenue 
Vendors can register with the Department by: 

• 	Filing a Master Business Application online at http://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/700028.htm. 

• 	Visiting any of the Department’s local offices or Unified Business Identifier (UBI) service locations. 

• 	Calling our Telephone Information Center at 1-800-647-7706. 

http://www.dol.wa.gov/forms/700028.htm


Sales made at special events 
Sales of tangible personal property at special events are generally subject to sales tax. Vendors must collect 
and remit the applicable combined state and local sales tax rate to the Department of Revenue. 

The combined state and local tax rate varies throughout the state, depending on the location where the sales 
are made. For the correct tax rate to charge for a specific location, see our Local Sales and Use Tax Rates and 
Changes publication available at http://dor.wa.gov. 

http:http://dor.wa.gov

