
 
 
 

 

New Business Owner 

Roadmap to
Register and
License your
Business in 
Washington 
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Have yOu writteN a BusiNess plaN? 

Have yOu cHecked fOr aNy 
additiONal requiremeNts 
fOr startiNg yOur BusiNess? 

dO yOu kNOw state aNd lOc al 
liceNsiNg aNd registratiON 
requiremeNts? 

Have yOu decided wHat type Of 
BusiNess structure yOu will Have? 

for help, go to the Plan chapter of Washington’s Small Business Guide: 

www.BizGuide.wa.gov 

for help, read the Start chapter of Washington’s Small Business Guide: 

www.BizGuide.wa.gov 

(for example: sole proprietor, limited liability company, etc.) 

for help, go to: 

www.bls.dor.wa.gov/blg/ 

answer the questions on this page to get customized information. Hang on 
to this information and use it when you license and register your business. 

Get Prepared! 
Be successful by following these 
steps before you license and 
register your business… 

for help, consult a trusted advisor. you can learn more about business structures 
in the Start chapter of Washington’s Small Business Guide: 

www.BizGuide.wa.gov 



 
 

 
  

 

  

 

 

 

  

  
 

 
  

 
  

 

 

Register your business with the Secretary 
of State as a legal structure, such as: 

• Limited Liability Company (LLC) 

• Profit Corporation 

• Nonprofit Corporation 

• Limited Partnership 

Once you register... 

Secretary of State will issue a Unified Business Identifier (UBI) 
# and send you formation documents. use the same name and 
uBi # when dealing with all agencies. 

How long does it take to process? 

• 2 business days if done online 

• 14 business days if done by paper 

for help, contact the Corporations Division at: 

www.sos.wa.gov/corps 

email: corps@sos.wa.gov 

phone: (360) 725-0377 

Things to consider... 

• By-laws if you are a corporation 

• Operating Agreement if you are an LLC 

• Governing person information such as officers for 
corporations and members/managers for llcs 

If you want to be an S-corp, complete the steps for a 
profit corporation or LLC with the Secretary of State, then 
contact IRS for S-corp tax designation. For details, see Start 
chapter of Washington’s Small Business Guide at: 

www.BizGuide.wa.gov 

will yOur BusiNess Be a 
cOrpOratiON Or limited 
liaBility cOmpaNy (llc)? 

go to step 3 

2 

NO 

YES 



 
 
 

  
 

  

 
 

 

  

  

 

  

  

 

  

  

 

prepare aNd BegiN tO 
file a BusiNess liceNse 
applicatiON witH tHe 
departmeNt Of reveNue 

we recommend you read through all steps in this roadmap before completing the business 
license application. 

Be prepared to answer these questions… 

• What is your physical address? 

• How much do you expect to make the first year? 

• Will you have employees? – Will any be under age 18? 

• If you won’t have employees, would you like to sign up for optional Workers’ 
compensation coverage? 

• Would you like to exempt your corporate officers from Unemployment Insurance coverage? 
(if yes, see information at: www.esd.wa.gov/uitax/corporateofficers/exempt-officers-defined.php) 

• What percentage of ownership do your owners and governing people hold? 

• Will your business sell, manufacture, or redistribute alcohol? If yes, go to: 
www.liq.wa.gov/licensing/apply-liquor-license 

How long does it take to get a liquor license? 

• Up to 90 days 

see Start chapter of Washington’s Business Guide for details at www.BizGuide.wa.gov 

You must file your Business License Application with the department of revenue to be recognized 
as a washington business. 

Apply or find instructions online at: www.bls.dor.wa.gov/file.aspx 

What happens once you file your Business License Application... 

department of revenue will: 

• Assign your business a UBI (unified business identifier) number if it hasn’t already 
been issued 

• Send you a business license with UBI 

• Create a taxpayer account and sends you more information on your tax 
reporting responsibilities 

How long does it take to process? 

• 2 business days if done online 

• 14 business days if done in person or mailed 

3 

www.bls.dor.wa.gov/file.aspx
http:www.BizGuide.wa.gov
www.liq.wa.gov/licensing/apply-liquor-license
www.esd.wa.gov/uitax/corporateofficers/exempt-officers-defined.php


 
 

 

 

 

 

  
  

 

  

 

  

  

 

will yOu Have emplOyees? 

1. Report your new employees, rehired employees, 
or other requirements to Department of Social 
and Health Services at: 

www.dshs.wa.gov/newhire 

2. Create a required safety plan 

go to: www.lni.wa.gov/Safety/Basics/ 

3. If you will have employees who are minors, review 
L&I’s rules and complete the required forms 

go to: www.lni.wa.gov/WorkplaceRights/TeenWorkers/default.asp 

4 

YES 

Be careful here! many “independent contractors” are actually 
considered employees by the state. see the Start chapter of 
Washington’s Small Business Guide at: www.BizGuide.wa.gov 

go to step 5 NO 

Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) will: 

• Automatically set up your Workers’ Compensation Account 

• Provide you with more information within 14 business days 

Employment Security (ESD) will: 

• Automatically set up your Unemployment Insurance Account 

• Provide you with more information within 14 business days 

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) will: 

• Assign a Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN). Go to: 
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=97860,00.html 

• Federal information is in the Start chapter of Washington’s 
small Business guide: www.BizGuide.wa.gov 
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will yOur BusiNess 
resell prOducts? 

go to step 6 NO 

Apply for a Reseller Permit... 

(if you do not automatically receive one by mail) 

www.dor.wa.gov/resellerpermit 

department of revenue will send you a reseller permit 

How long does it take to process? 

• 10 business days 

YES 
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are yOu a cONstructiON 
cONtractOr? 

go to step 7 

What happens after you register: 

labor & industries: 

• Registers you as a construction contractor 

• Posts your registration on L&I’s website for 
public viewing 

• Contacts your business with more information 

How long does it take to process? 

• Immediate if done at an L&I office 

• 5 business days if done by mail 

YES 

NO 

Register as a contractor with Department of 
Labor & Industries 

For help, go to your local office: 

www.lni.wa.gov/main/contactinfo/officelocations 

or call 800-647-0982 

Before you register as a contractor… 

• Read about requirements: 
www.contractors.lni.wa.gov 

• Have your UBI ready; see previous steps if you need a UBI. 



 
 

  

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

  
 

  

  

 

Contact your local health department 
for requirements 

go to: www.mrsc .org/byndmrsc/counties.aspx 

will yOur BusiNess 
deal witH fOOd? 

YES 

NO Go to Step 8 

cHeck tO make sure yOu 
Have met all federal, 
state, cOuNty, aNd city 
requiremeNts fOr activities 
yOur BusiNess will cONduct 

it is your responsibility to ensure you meet all 
government requirements. 

For general help understanding government 
requirements go to: 

www.BizGuide.wa.gov 

Note: You may receive updated business licenses as different licenses 
or endorsements are approved. 

For help with city and county requirements, go to: 

www.access.wa.gov/business/citylicenses.aspx and 

www.mrsc .org/byndmrsc/counties.aspx 
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Once you 
have met the 

requirements… 

Open 
your 

business! 




